North Carolina’s First Capitol
Royal Governor William Tryon and his family brought architect John Hawks from London to design and build the Georgian-style structure. Completed in 1770, Tryon Palace served as the first permanent capitol of North Carolina and was home to Governor Tryon and his family.
Post Revolutionary War
Tryon Palace was the site of the first sessions of the general assembly for the State of North Carolina following the revolution and housed the state governors until 1794. In 1798, fire destroyed the original Palace building. An extensive 30-year campaign to rebuild the Palace and restore the grounds was launched by the people of New Bern, state leaders, world craftsmen, and generous, dedicated citizens such as Mrs. James Edwin Latham (Maude Moore Latham). Their efforts led to the triumphal reopening of the Palace in 1959. Today, the Palace lives on as a testament to our history, community and rebirth.