Treasures from the Attic
Named in honor of Bess Guion, the Guion Gallery was dedicated during the 60th Anniversary Celebration of Tryon Palace’s reopening in 2019. The Guion Gallery honors the original collection of decorative arts, and boasts pieces purchased by and donated to Tryon Palace.
In later years, Tryon Palace reinterpreted the Governor’s Palace to present a more historically accurate picture as to how it was when Governor Tryon lived there in 1770. This reinterpretation made many of the acquired decorative arts pieces unusable in the historical setting and they were removed from the Palace’s furnishing plan.
To continue displaying pieces from the beautiful and impressive collection spearheaded by Mrs. Maude Moore Latham, the Treasures from the Attic exhibit was created to remain a permanent exhibit within the Guion Gallery at the North Carolina History Center.
Entrance to the Guion Gallery and Treasures from the Attic exhibit is free to the public.