North Carolina Symphony to Give Free Concert at Tryon Palace May 31

Works from Mozart, Liszt, Rossini, and more in “Concerts in Your Community”

The North Carolina Symphony will give a free outdoor concert Sunday, May 31, at 7:30 p.m. on the South Lawn at New Bern’s historic Tryon Palace.  Symphony Associate Conductor David Glover will lead the orchestra in “Concerts in Your Community: Your Favorite Light Classics.”  In the event of inclement weather, the performance will take place at the Riverfront Convention Center.

Concert-goers can enjoy the early summer evening accompanied by Edvard Grieg’s Suite No. 1 from Peer Gynt, Op. 46, the overture to The Marriage of Figaro by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody, the overture to the Barber of Seville by Gioachino Rossini, and much more.  The performance is part of the Symphony’s summer “Concerts in Your Community,” free concerts presented throughout the state.  Tryon Palace is located at 529 South Front Street in New Bern. 

The concert is presented by PotashCorp – Aurora, as well as the New Bern Series chapter board of the North Carolina Symphony as part of the Tryon Palace Performing Arts Series. Media Partners are Public Radio East and the New Bern Sun Journal. 

The public is also invited to purchase tickets to a picnic buffet dinner preceding the concert to support the North Carolina Symphony’s education concerts in Craven County. The picnic will be held at the North Carolina History Center at Tryon Palace beginning at 5 p.m. Picnic attendees receive dinner, reserved parking at the History Center and reserved seats on the lawn at the Tryon Palace performance. The North Carolina History Center is located at 529 S. Front St. in New Bern.  Picnic tickets are $60 per person.   To purchase tickets and for information on this opportunity to support the Symphony’s education concerts in Craven County, call the Riverfront Convention Center at (252) 637-1551.  

The 2015/16 New Bern Series includes three classical concerts.  During the 2015/16 season, audiences will hear Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concert No. 3; Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony; and A Day in Paris, which features music from Debussy, Ravel and more.  New Bern audiences will also delight in the Symphony’s annual “Holiday Pops,” including the orchestra’s popular Christmas carol sing-along, and a Young People’s Concert titled “Halloween at Hogwarts: The Music of Harry Potter.” Complete details on the Symphony’s outstanding New Bern 2015/16 season can be found online at or by calling the Symphony Box Office toll free 877.627.6724.

About the North Carolina Symphony
Founded in 1932, the North Carolina Symphony gives more than 200 performances annually to adults and school children in more than 50 North Carolina counties. An entity of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, the orchestra employs 66 professional musicians, under the artistic leadership of Music Director and Conductor Grant Llewellyn, Resident Conductor William Henry Curry, and Associate Conductor David Glover.

Headquartered in downtown Raleigh’s spectacular Meymandi Concert Hall at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts and an outdoor summer venue at Booth Amphitheatre in Cary, N.C., the Symphony performs about 60 concerts annually in the Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill and Cary metropolitan area. It holds regular concert series in Fayetteville, New Bern, Southern Pines and Wilmington—as well as individual concerts in many other North Carolina communities throughout the year—and conducts one of the most extensive education programs of any U.S. orchestra.

North Carolina Symphony
“Concerts in Your Community: Your Favorite Light Classics”
David Glover, conductor
Sunday, May 31, 2015, 7:30 p.m.
Tryon Palace, New Bern

ROSSINI                      Overture to Il barbiere di Siviglia [The Barber of Seville]   

GRIEG             Suite No. 1 from Peer Gynt, Op. 46
I. Morning Mood
II. Ase’s Death
III. Anitra’s Dance
IV. In the Hall of the Mountain King

SIBELIUS                    Valse Triste, Op. 44   

CHABRIER                  España   
MOZART                     Overture to Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492 [The Marriage of Figaro]   

LISZT                          Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C minor   

DELIUS                       La Calinda from Koanga   

TCHAIKOVSKY          Marche Slave, Op. 31